Faculty Overview & History


The Faculty of Architecture, Design & Fine Arts was separated from the Faculty of Engineering on the decision of the GAU Senate in the year 2009. Beginning from 2009-2010 academic year on, the Faculty of Architecture, Design & Fine Arts started to function. Educational principles of the faculty are based on the fact that the creative process in art and design relies on a broad body of knowledge for direction and inspiration. Guided by this principle, the degree programs aim to train highly competent individuals oriented towards research, design and performance. The international and multidisciplinary composition of the academic staff allows the provision of interdisciplinary studies, as well as particular courses of study to meet individual educational needs. 

The degree programmes of the Faculty of Architecture, Design & Fine Arts consist of four undergraduate programmes in the departments of Architecture, Graphic Design, Interior Design and Painting. The graduate programs of the Faculty include Master degree programmes in Architecture and Interior Design, and a PhD programme in Architecture. 

The deans of the Faculty were respectively:

1) Ayşe Zeynep Onur, Ph.D., Assoc. Prof., (2009-2010)

2) Ali Erhan Öztemir, Ph.D., Assist. Prof., (2010-2011)

3) Güzin Demirkan Türel, Ph.D., Prof., (2011-2012)

4) Hossein Sadri, Ph.D., Assoc. Prof. (2012-2016)

5) Mehmet Adil, Ph.D., Assoc. Prof. (2016-2023)